facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images mail whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus close spinner11
Are you missing theatre as much as we are? Support us now with Theatre Tokens and see your favourite shows when they reopen.

Stars scoop Evening Standard Awards

First Published 1 December 2014, Last Updated 2 December 2014

It was a night of Hollywood glamour at the Evening Standard Theatre Awards this weekend as screen favourites Gillian Anderson and Tom Hiddleston walked away with the much coveted Best Actress and Actor Awards.

The 60th Evening Standard Theatre Awards, held annually by the London paper to celebrate the capital’s achievements in theatre, were presented at a star-studded ceremony last night at the London Palladium. Well-known faces including Victoria and David Beckham, Naomi Campbell, Eddie Redmayne and Anna Kendrick were all in attendance to congratulate this year’s list of nominees.

Luther star Idris Elba joined the starry line-up to present Anderson with the Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress for her critically acclaimed role in the Young Vic’s sell-out production of A Streetcar Named Desire. The X-Files actor, who can currently be seen in the BBC’s thriller series The Fall, triumphed over fellow nominees Helen McCrory, Tanya Moodie, Billie Piper and Kristin Scott Thomas.

Helen Mirren was on hand to announce fellow Olivier Award winner Hiddleston as the winner of 2014’s Best Actor Award. Fighting off strong competition from this year’s nominees Mark Strong and Ben Miles, Hiddleston was honoured for his demanding role in the Donmar Warehouse’s Coriolanus.

It was also a night of celebration for Headlong Theatre’s Artistic Director Jeremy Herrin who triumphed over Stephen Daldry, Yaël Farber and Ivo van Hove to take home the Milton Shulman Award for Best Director for his ambitious stage adaptations of Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall and Bring Up The Bodies.

Rivalling the double bill’s ambitious scope, the National Theatre’s epic trio of plays about Scottish history, The James Plays, created with the National Theatre of Scotland and Edinburgh International Festival, won the NOOK Award for Best New Play. David Hare’s Skylight won the Revival of the Year Award following Stephen Daldry’s acclaimed recent production starring Bill Nighy and Carey Mulligan.

Leading the way for this year’s many new musical offerings were two Broadway exports, the Young Vic’s West End transfer of the challenging The Scottsboro Boys, which earned 2014’s Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical, and the National Theatre’s disco musical Here Lies Love, which took home the Beyond Theatre Award. Olivier Award winner Es Devlin was also honoured for her design of the musical adaptation of the controversial novel American Psycho, a co-production by theatre company Headlong and Islington’s Almeida Theatre.

Amongst the many established names earning nods at this year’s event, the Evening Standard Theatre Awards have also earned a reputation for singling out rising stars in the industry, many of whom have subsequently gone on to become leading names in theatre.  

Taking home this year’s Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright was Beth Steel, whose miners’ strike drama Wonderland played at Hampstead Theatre this year. Laura Jane Matthewson followed last year’s winner Cush Jumbo to join the alumni of Emerging Talent Award winners, earning the prize for her breakthrough role in Southwark Theatre’s Dogfight.

Hosted by comedians Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon, and presented by a glamourous line-up including the newspaper’s owner Evgeny Lebedev, American Vogue’s Anna Wintour and Burberry’s Christopher Bailey, the awards mark the first ceremony in the busy theatre awards calendar. The awards season culminates in the most prestigious event of its kind, the Olivier Awards with MasterCard, which will be held on 12 April at the Royal Opera House.

Full list of winners:

The Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright

Beth Steel (Wonderland)

The Emerging Talent Award in Partnership with Burberry

Laura Jane Matthewson (Dogfight)

Milton Shulman Award for Best Director

Jeremy Herrin (Wolf Hall & Bring Up the Bodies)

Beyond Theatre Award

Here Lies Love

Editor’s Award

Kate Bush (Before the Dawn)

The Best Design Award in Partnership with Heal’s

Es Devlin (American Psycho)

Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical

The Scottsboro Boys

Revival of the Year Award


NOOK Award for Best Play

The James Plays

Best Actor Award

Tom Hiddleston (Coriolanus)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress

Gillian Anderson (A Streetcar Named Desire)

Lebedev Award

Tom Stoppard


Sign up

Related articles

If you click through to seat selection (where you'll see either best available or a seating plan), you will be seeing the most up-to-date prices. If this differs from what we've written on the calendar, please bear with us, as those prices will update soon.

We now sell our famous TKTS Booth discounts online here at Official London Theatre.

We are now cancelling all performances up until and including 31 May 2020 to help us process existing bookings whilst we wait for further clarity from the government in terms of when we will be able to reopen.

We are so sorry that in these testing and difficult times you are not able to enjoy the show you have booked for and hope the following helps clarify next steps in respect of your tickets .

There is nothing that you need to do if your performance has been cancelled, but we do ask for your patience.

If you have booked directly with the theatre or show website for an affected performance, please be assured that they will contact you directly to arrange an exchange for a later date, a credit note/voucher or a refund. If you have booked via a ticket agent they will also be in contact with you directly.

We are processing in strict date order of performance, so you are likely to be contacted after the date you were due to go to the theatre. However, we want to reassure you that you will be contacted, and your order will be processed, but please do bear with us.

We’d like to thank everyone who has been patient and kind in dealing with their ticket providers so far and we are sorry that we cannot process your order as quickly as we would like.

Please do not contact your credit card company as that will slow the process down and put an additional burden on our box office and ticket agent teams.

In order for us to serve our audiences the best we can, please do not get in touch with your point of sale if you have booked for performances after 31 May. Please be reassured that if we have to cancel future performances you will be directly contacted by your theatre or ticket provider. Our producers continue to plan for all eventualities dependent on the individual needs of their shows and we will provide further updates on specific shows as and when they become available.

We look forward to welcoming you back into our theatres as soon as we are allowed to resume performances. In the meantime stay safe and healthy.

While theatres are currently closed, various venues and productions are making announcements for their individual shows, including cancellations and rescheduled performances. Please check with the individual shows for details.