facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus close home newspaper-o perm_device_information restaurant school stay_current_landscape ticket train

Olivier Awards 2024 with Mastercard winners announced

Published 14 April 2024

This evening we revealed the winners of this year’s Olivier Awards with Mastercard. The winners were announced at a star-studded ceremony at London’s Royal Albert Hall, hosted by Hannah Waddingham. A highlights package from the event will be broadcast at 10.10pm this evening on ITV1, and will be available to stream via BritBox in North America, Canada and Australia.

The biggest winner of the night was Sunset Boulevard with seven wins, including both Best Actor and Actress in a Musical for its leading duo Tom Francis and Nicole Scherzinger. Jamie Lloyd won the Sir Peter Hall Award for Best Director and the show also won Best Musical Revival. Jack Knowles took home the White Light Award for Best Lighting Design; Alan Williams won for the Outstanding Musical Contribution award for his musical supervision & musical direction and Adam Fisher won the d&b audiotechnik Award for Best Sound Design.

Host Hannah Waddingham opened the ceremony with a stunning performance of ‘Anything Goes’ from the musical of the same name, accompanied by musician Joe Stilgoe and the London Community Gospel Choir. Additional performances throughout the evening included Mastercard Best New Musical nominees: The Little Big Things, Next To Normal, Operation Mincemeat and A Strange Loop, alongside Best Musical Revival nominees Guys & Dolls and Hadestown and winner Sunset Boulevard, in addition to a special moment from Groundhog Day Australia.

Mastercard Best New Musical was awarded to Operation Mincemeat, with music, lyrics & book by David Cumming, Felix Hagan, Natasha Hodgson & Zoë Roberts at the Fortune Theatre. It was a fiercely competitive category this year – a testament to the strength and creativity of London’s ever-evolving musical theatre scene. Playing Hester in Operation Mincemeat, Jak Malone took home the award for Best Actor in a Supporting Role In a Musical.

The coveted Olivier Awards for Best Actor and Best Actress went to Mark Gatiss for his role in The Motive And The Cue and Sarah Snook for her West End debut performance in The Picture Of Dorian Gray.

Amy Trigg won the Best Actress in a Supporting Role In a Musical award for her role as Agnes in The Little Big Things at @sohoplace and the Cunard Best Revival award went to Vanya by Anton Chekhov, adapted by Simon Stephens at the Duke Of York’s Theatre.

Last year’s Special Award winner, Arlene Phillips returned to accept the Gillian Lynne Award for Best Theatre Choreographer alongside James Cousins for Guys & Dolls at the Bridge Theatre.

Stranger Things: The First Shadow by Kate Trefry at the Phoenix Theatre won two awards: the Noël Coward Award for Best New Entertainment or Comedy Play and the Blue-i Theatre Technology Award for Best Set Design went to Miriam Buether for set design & 59 Productions for video design.

The Bush Theatre’s Sleepova by Matilda Feyiṣayọ won the Unusual Rigging Award for Outstanding Achievement in Affiliate Theatre and the TAIT Award for Best New Opera Production went to Innocence by the Royal Opera at the Royal Opera House. The Outstanding Achievement in Dance went to Isabela Coracy for her performance in NINA: By Whatever Means, part of Cassa Pancho’s Ballet Black: Pioneers at the Barbican Theatre. The award for Best New Dance Production went to La Ruta by Gabriela Carrizo, part of Nederlands Dans Theater – NDT 1 at Sadler’s Wells. In his final year in the role, Antonio Pappano won the Outstanding Achievement in Opera award for his role as Music Director of the Royal Opera House.

The Best Family Show winner was Dinosaur World Live by Derek Bond at Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre.

This year’s In Memoriam segment paid tribute to some of the industry titans we have lost this year from both on and off stage, including Haydn Gwynne, who was posthumously celebrated as she won the Olivier Award for Best Actress in a Supporting Role for When Winston Went to War with The Wireless. Her children accepted the award in her honour and gave a touching tribute to Gwynne as a formidable and revered artist as well as a much loved mother.

The National Theatre closed the awards ceremony with a special performance to mark its 60th anniversary. Written by James Graham with direction by Elin Schofield, the performance saw Joseph Fiennes reprise his role as Gareth Southgate in Dear England, which won The Londoner Award for Best New Play, to lead an ensemble cast including Janie Dee, Adrian Lester, Meera Syal, Callum Scott Howells and Fra Fee alongside a choir of 30 National Theatre alumni performers. Showcasing the scale of the National Theatre’s contribution to the arts, including a film marking the creation and development of the NT’s South Bank home voiced by Dame Helen Mirren, the performance culminated with a rousing rendition of ‘You’ll Never Walk Alone’ from the musical Carousel.

Eleanor Lloyd, President of SOLT said: “The Olivier Awards have once again showcased the best of London theatre and the huge talent of this incredible sector. Congratulations to all of the worthy winners and every nominee for your immense and valued contribution.”

The Olivier Awards continued their partnership with Mastercard as headline sponsor for its 14th year.

Charlie Carrington, Senior Vice President, Marketing and Communications for UK and Ireland at Mastercard said: “We are delighted to partner once again with the Olivier Awards to celebrate the best talent and performances London theatre has to offer. Mastercard continues to work closely with the creative industries, supporting inclusivity and championing all those performing on stage and behind the scenes, whilst bringing fans closer to their passion for theatre. Congratulations to all of tonight’s winners and we look forward to another wonderful year of theatre ahead.”

Mastercard cardholders were offered exclusive access to tickets and VIP experiences for the biggest night in theatre. More once-in-a-lifetime theatre experiences can be found on priceless.com.

Clothing partner Mithridate sponsored the award for Best Costume Design, which was won by Marg Horwell for The Picture Of Dorian Gray. They also generously dressed a number of attending nominees, presenters and VIP guests, including David Tennant, Fra Fee, Madeleine Mantock, Georgina Onuorah and John McCrea.

The Olivier Awards are grateful to additional category sponsors Cunard, The Londoner, The Lynne & Land Foundation, The Noel Coward Foundation, as well as production partners Blue-I Theatre Technology, d&b audiotechnik, TAIT, Unusual Rigging and White Light, Champagne partner Taittinger, and additional partners Global, Heart of London Business Alliance, Newman Displays, See Tickets, Mobile Entertainment Platform partner TikTok and Fujifilm for their ongoing support.


Sign up

Related articles