facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus close home newspaper-o perm_device_information restaurant school stay_current_landscape ticket train

Cynthia Erivo at the 2021 Black British Theatre Awards

Date Announced for Black British Theatre Awards

Harriet Hughes

By Harriet Hughes First Published 13 June 2022, Last Updated 13 June 2022

The date has been set for the 2022 Black British Theatre Awards, which will take place on Sunday 16 October in association with The National Theatre, London. The Black British Theatre Awards (BBTAs) highlight excellence and leadership in the UK theatre sector through the acknowledgement and celebration of established and emerging diverse talent. The prestigious awards celebrate the legacy of Black theatre pioneers and their visionary contributions.

Nominations for this year’s awards opened Thursday 1 June and close Monday 1 August. These public nominations include productions from 1 August 2021 to 31 July 2022. The BBTAs team are also proud to announce the addition of three new awards this year, which are Best Understudy/Swing in a Theatre Production, Outstanding Performance in a Play and Outstanding Performance in a Musical.

You can visit blackbritishtheatreawards.com to register and submit nominations – submissions from the general public are welcome.

(Pictured: Lucy St. Louis)

The 2021 BBTAs were hosted by Grammy, Tony and Emmy Award-Winner, and two-time Academy Award Nominee Cynthia Erivo and Black Panther, Star Wars and Killing Eve actor Danny Sapani. Both highly acclaimed in theatre, film and television, the dynamic co-hosts lead last year’s awards at The Old Finsbury Town Hall in Clerkenwell, London.

Other renowned names who have presented at these unique and important awards in the past include: Jason Pennycooke (Moulin Rouge!, Hamilton, Memphis, Rocketman), Miriam-Teak Lee (Hamilton, & Juliet), Dawn Hope (Follies, The Scottsboro Boys, Porgy and Bess, Coronation Street, Hollyoaks), Kenneth Olumuyiwa Tharp CBE (Director of Africa Centre, Former CEO of The Place, Soloist and Choreographer London Contemporary Dance Theatre) Matthew Xia (Artistic Director, Actors Touring Company, Director Amsterdam, Eden, Blood Knot and The Wiz), Brenda Emmanus OBE (Arts, Culture and Entertainment Correspondent most recently across BBC London and BBC Network news) and Layton Williams (Everyone’s Talking About Jamie, Bad Education, Benidorm, The
Cleaner). The 2022 hosts and presenters will be announced in the coming months.

(Pictured: Layton Williams)

The Black British Theatre Awards (BBTAs) was established to raise the profile of Black British creatives and performers who have not only influenced the UK’s artistic legacy but have created an impact on an international level. October 2019 saw the inaugural ceremony of the BBTAS, launched to coincide with Black History Month.

The BBTAs were created to target the leadership of the theatre sector, celebrating the diverse talent that already exists in the UK and championing the theatre pioneers whose contributions are well established, as well as supporting the young people coming from education into the arts to empower them to tell their stories and continue the movement. As the theatre industry continues to recover from the global pandemic and with the heightened awareness of diversity due to the Black Lives Matter Movement, the BBTAs are an opportunity to acknowledge those with the collective mission to create real change and have embedded representation in their infrastructure.


Sign up

black british theatre awards

Related articles