play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down
Bush Theatre

The Bush Theatre

Writers revealed for This Place We Know

Published 25 May 2016

April de Angelis, Kenny Emson, Nancy Harris, Sabrina Mahfouz, Barney Norris and Gbolahan Obisesan are the sextet of playwrights who will take their writing to a variety of venues in Shepherd’s Bush’s as part of This Place We Know.

The six playwrights will each produce a new piece to be staged in a location along, on and around the Uxbridge Road for the piece that will see Bush Theatre audiences take to the West London streets while its home undergoes a £4 million renovation. Dates for This Place We Know are yet to be announced.

While six experienced writers create that show, six talented writers will join the 2016 Emerging Writers Group. Tristan Bernays, Tristan Fynn-Aiduenu, Kamal Kaan, Jessica Sian, A.C Smith and Camilla Whitehall, who are all in the early stages of their careers, will receive help and support from the Bush over the next year.

This Place We Know is not the only off-site show to be staged by the Bush while its home undergoes building work. During the summer, Melissa Bubnic’s Boys Will Be Boys, a co-production with Headlong, will run at the Bush Hall. In the autumn, Nicholas Pinnock reprises his acclaimed performances as Jay ‘The Sport’ Jackson in The Royale at The Tabernacle in Notting Hill. 


Sign up

Related articles