play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel
Royal Opera House

The Sleeping Beauty

This show has now closed, however you may also be interested in:

About the Show Less...

Journey with The Royal Ballet to an enchanted world of princesses, fairy godmothers and magic spells in Petipa’s classic ballet. Read More >

A wicked fairy places a fatal curse on the baby Princess Aurora, which the good Lilac Fairy softens to a sleep of 100 years. Only a prince’s kiss can break the spell.

The Sleeping Beauty holds a special place in The Royal Ballet’s repertory. It was the ballet with which the Company reopened the Royal Opera House in 1946 after World War II, announcing its move from Sadler’s Wells to Covent Garden. Margot Fonteyn danced the role of the beautiful princess Aurora in the first performance, with Robert Helpmann as Prince Florimund. Sixty years later, in 2006, the original 1946 staging was revived, returning Oliver Messel’s wonderful designs and glittering costumes to the stage once again.

Marius Petipa’s classic 19th-century choreography is combined with newly created sections by Frederick Ashton, Anthony Dowell and Christopher Wheeldon. The ballet contains many memorable moments, from the iconic Rose Adagio, when Aurora meets her four royal suitors, to the vigorous hunting dances and the famous waltz for Aurora and her Prince. Throughout, Pyotr Il’yich Tchaikovsky’s score conveys passion and intensity.

Booking opens on the 14th of January 2014

Find out more about the rich variety of West End shows on offer in Theatreland.


Important Dates & Timing

Opening Night: 22/02/2014

Closing Night: 09/04/2014

Running time: 2h55

Security note: For your comfort and security, you may be subject to additional checks on your visit to London theatres. Please contact the venue for more information.

Cast & Creative


Producer - Monica Mason & Christopher Newton

Designer - Oliver Messel, Peter Farmer

Choreographer - Marius Petipa, Anthony Dowell, Frederick Ashton, Christopher Wheeldon

Lighting Designer - Mark Jonathan

Music By - Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky

ABOUT Royal Opera House

Covent Garden, London, United Kingdom WC2E 9DD