facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus close home newspaper-o perm_device_information restaurant school stay_current_landscape ticket train
The Matilda team celebrates winning the Best New Musical Olivier Award

The Matilda team celebrates winning the Best New Musical Olivier Award

Matilda wins big at the 2012 Olivier Awards

First Published 13 April 2012, Last Updated 17 April 2012

The 2012 Olivier Awards with MasterCard ceremony has come to a close with the Royal Shakespeare Company’s hit show Matilda The Musical the biggest winner of the night, taking home a huge seven awards.

While the show’s creative team swept the board collecting the Best Set Design (Rob Howell), Best Theatre Choreographer (Peter Darling), Best Sound Design (Simon Baker) and Best Director (Matthew Warchus) Olivier Awards, the musical was also named Best New Musical.

The acclaimed cast were not left empty handed with an Olivier Award record-breaking win for the four Matildas who share 2012’s Best Actress in a Musical Olivier Award, becoming the youngest ever recipients of an Olivier Award. Bertie Carvel, who plays their fearsome headmistress, was named Best Actor.

Held at the Royal Opera House and presented by Sweeney Todd co-stars Michael Ball and Imelda Staunton, tonight’s star-studded ceremony and celebration of the best of London theatre has given many of London’s most-lauded venues and famed stars a reason to celebrate.

The Regent’s Park Open Air theatre triumphed with Crazy For You collecting not only Best Costume Design (Peter McKintosh) but also Best Musical Revival, marking the third time in as many years the alfresco venue has been awarded the accolade.

The much-decorated National Theatre’s award success continued this year following seven wins in 2011. While it didn’t match this number at tonight’s ceremony, the Southbank venue succeeded in three categories including the Best Actor Olivier Award, which was shared by Benedict Cumberbatch and Jonny Lee Miller for their high profile roles in Frankenstein, and the MasterCard Best New Play which saw fellow NT nominee One Man, Two Guvnors pipped to the post by John Hodge’s black comedy Collaborators.

It was also a good night for London’s intimate Donmar Warehouse with Anna Christie taking home two awards; Best Revival and Best Actress, which saw Ruth Wilson accept her second Olivier Award after her 2010 win for another Donmar hit, A Streetcar Named Desire.

The 2012 Olivier Awards saw Sheridan Smith too triumph for a second time. After her 2011 Best Actress in a Musical win, this year the prestigious awards recognised her work in drama Flare Path, with Smith winning Best Performance in a Supporting Role.

In the opera and dance categories it was a hugely successful night for the English National Opera who won both Best New Opera for Castor And Pollux and the Outstanding Achievement in Opera Olivier Award, recognised for its entire exceptional season. The Royal Opera House was recognised with Royal Ballet principal dancer Edward Watson winning the Outstanding Achievement in Dance Olivier Award, while Sadler’s Wells took home Best New Dance Production for the acclaimed DESH.

In other categories, Derren Brown was awarded his second Olivier Award, winning in the Best Entertainment and Family category for Svengali, and Theatre Royal Stratford East took home the Outstanding Achievement in an Affiliate Theatre accolade for Roadkill.

Guests at the star-studded event, along with BBC Red Button and online viewers from across the world, enjoyed exclusive performances tonight from shows including Matilda The Musical and Ghost The Musical, as well as tributes to Special Olivier Award winners Sir Tim Rice and Dame Monica Mason, who were both recognised tonight for their outstanding contribution to theatre and dance.

Join the conversation on Twitter using #oliviers2012 as all the winners and nominees from tonight’s ceremony celebrate a fantastic year for the theatre capital of the world.


Sign up