facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images mail whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus close spinner11

Winners announced for the Mousetrap Awards

First Published 8 May 2017, Last Updated 9 May 2017

On Sunday 7 May, Mousetrap Theatre Projects’ Youth Forum presented the 6th annual Awards Ceremony for ‘The Mousetraps’ at the Charing Cross Theatre. These unique theatre awards were voted upon by over 500 young theatregoers (aged 15-23). The Awards were presented to 12 outstanding West End shows and individual artists.

Winners of ‘The Mousetraps’ in 2017

‘Most Legendary Show’ sponsored by Colourview: Les Misérables
Collected by Paul Wilkins, who plays Marius in the current production

‘Best Understudy’ sponsored by The Stage: Alice Fearn (understudy of Elphaba in Wicked)
Collected by Alice Fearn

‘Best Ensemble’ sponsored by West End Kids: Matilda the Musical
Collected by Katherine Woolly, Children’s Musical Theatre Director

‘Best Actress’ sponsored by Target Live: Noma Dumezweni (Hermione in Harry Potter)
Collected by Noma Dumezweni

‘New Play On The Block’ sponsored by Encore Tickets: The Comedy About A Bank Robbery
Collected by Chris Leask, Ellie Morris and Steven Rostance

‘Best Actor’ sponsored by Dewynters: Tyrone Huntley (Judas in Jesus Christ Superstar)
Collected by Tyrone Huntley

‘Band That Rocked our World’ sponsored by Tesco: School of Rock
Collected by Bailey, Eliza and Cole, band performers in School of Rock

‘Jaw Dropping Set’ sponsored by AKA: Aladdin
Collected by Nancy Shakerley of Disney Theatricals on behalf of Bob Crowley

‘Most Welcoming Venue’ sponsored by Little Star Productions: The Young Vic
Collected by Clara O’Toole, Welcome Team Manager and William Bowden, Front of House Manager

‘Show That We’ll Miss In The West End’ sponsored by Fiery Angel: Sunny Afternoon
Collected by Adam Sopp (Mick in Sunny Afternoon)

‘Welcome To The West End – Best Newcomer’ sponsored by West End Wilma: Amber Riley (Dreamgirls)
Collected by Tyrone Huntley, who is in Dreamgirls with Amber

‘Musical That Landed With A Bang’ sponsored by Mischief Theatre Company: Half A Sixpence
Collected by Andrew Wright and Jaye Elster, choreographers

The 90-minute Awards ceremony was opened by West End star Chloe Hart (currently in Kinky Boots), who has supported Mousetrap for the last two years on its Stagesong programme. Youth Forum members, Farah Omotosho and Amy Thomas, compered the show and a former Youth Forum Member, Nick McLean (now in The Book of Mormon), closed the show with a touching tribute to Mousetrap Theatre Projects.

Highlighting the Awards ceremony were youth performances featuring the Royal Central School of Speech and Drama’s Show Choir Society, a monologue from The Enigma Code by Alfie Neill, a vocal performance from Youth Forum member Darcy Dixon, a monologue by Nicole Adetiba from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, a dance performance by Michael Bunani and a short set by Lizzie Bea and the Band.

Mousetrap Theatre Projects is a theatre education charity dedicated to bringing the magic of theatre into the lives of young people. It opens the doors to all that London’s vibrant theatre scene has to offer – particularly for young people with limited means, support or special needs – and encourages participants to engage creatively with their theatre experiences. ‘The Mousetraps’ are supported by The Society of London Theatre through funding from the Theatre Development Trust.

For more information, visit: www.mousetrap.org.uk.


Sign up

Related articles

If you click through to seat selection (where you'll see either best available or a seating plan), you will be seeing the most up-to-date prices. If this differs from what we've written on the calendar, please bear with us, as those prices will update soon.

We now sell our famous TKTS Booth discounts online here at Official London Theatre.

We are now cancelling all performances up until and including 31 May 2020 to help us process existing bookings whilst we wait for further clarity from the government in terms of when we will be able to reopen.

We are so sorry that in these testing and difficult times you are not able to enjoy the show you have booked for and hope the following helps clarify next steps in respect of your tickets .

There is nothing that you need to do if your performance has been cancelled, but we do ask for your patience.

If you have booked directly with the theatre or show website for an affected performance, please be assured that they will contact you directly to arrange an exchange for a later date, a credit note/voucher or a refund. If you have booked via a ticket agent they will also be in contact with you directly.

We are processing in strict date order of performance, so you are likely to be contacted after the date you were due to go to the theatre. However, we want to reassure you that you will be contacted, and your order will be processed, but please do bear with us.

We’d like to thank everyone who has been patient and kind in dealing with their ticket providers so far and we are sorry that we cannot process your order as quickly as we would like.

Please do not contact your credit card company as that will slow the process down and put an additional burden on our box office and ticket agent teams.

In order for us to serve our audiences the best we can, please do not get in touch with your point of sale if you have booked for performances after 31 May. Please be reassured that if we have to cancel future performances you will be directly contacted by your theatre or ticket provider. Our producers continue to plan for all eventualities dependent on the individual needs of their shows and we will provide further updates on specific shows as and when they become available.

We look forward to welcoming you back into our theatres as soon as we are allowed to resume performances. In the meantime stay safe and healthy.

While theatres are currently closed, various venues and productions are making announcements for their individual shows, including cancellations and rescheduled performances. Please check with the individual shows for details.