facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus close home newspaper-o perm_device_information restaurant school stay_current_landscape ticket train

Vanessa Redgrave at the Olivier Awards 2019 with Mastercard. Photo: Pamela Raith

Vanessa Redgrave and many more recognised in New Year’s Honours List

Published 1 January 2022

The 2022 New Year’s Honours list has been revealed and feature a whole host of names who have contributed to the theatre industry.

Being named Dame are Olivier Award-winning actress Vanessa Redgrave and actress Joanna Lumley. They are joined by Sadler’s Wells artistic director Alistair Spalding who was awarded a Knighthood.

Receiving CBE’s are Olivier Award-winning designer Es Devlin; Lisa Jane Burger, Executive Director and Joint Chief Executive of National Theatre, who will be stepping down in 2022. She is joined by Adrian Charles Vinken, Chief Executive Officer of Theatre Royal Plymouth; film and stage producer Barbara Dana Broccoli; Norman Murray, Chairman of Scottish Ballet; Charles Alexander, Chairman of Opera Rara; John Gilhooly, Artistic and Executive Director of Wigmore Hall.

Those becoming OBE’s include Leslie William Brotherston, Theatrical Designer and Associate Artist of Matthew Bourne’s company New Adventures; actress June Brown, known for her role in EastEnders; performer Nitin Ganatra; Coronation Street actor, William Roache; Pauline Black, actor and author; Director of the Garfield Weston Foundation Philippa Charles; Alpesh Chauhan, music director of Birmingham Opera Company; Mark Pemberton, Director of the ABO (Association of British Orchestras); dancer Peter Wilson for services to classical ballet; and Carol Lake of the Cultural Recovery Board for services to the Arts during Covid-19.

Those awarded an MBE include Pravesh Kumar, Artistic Director and Producer at Rifco Theatre Company;  Rosalind Mary Paul, Chief Executive Officer and Artistic Director, Scene and Heard; Michele Louise Alma Taylor, Director for Change at Ramps on the Moon; Anthony Keith Holdom, Company Manager and Artistic Director of The Misfits Theatre Company; Maureen Dunn for services to Drama and the Performing Arts in Northern Ireland; Cherylee Houston, for services to drama and to people with disabilities; Jacqueline O’Hanlon, Director of Learning at the Royal Shakespeare Company; dancer Ashley Banjo; Pawlet Brookes, founder and artistic director of Serendipity Arts; board secretary at English National Opera, John Cooke; Chris Nash, theatre photographer. 

Actor Daniel Craig was awarded a CMG.


Sign up

Related articles