facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images mail whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus close spinner11
Following official government advice theatres are currently closed to help slow the spread of coronavirus. For more information on cancelled performances click here.
Richard Eyre & Tyrone Huntley

Richard Eyre & Tyrone Huntley

Richard Eyre to be honoured & Tyrone Huntley to host at UK Theatre Awards

Published 5 October 2018

Director Richard Eyre is to be this year’s recipient of the Gielgud Award for Excellence in the Dramatic Arts. The award will be presented by Ian McKellen at the UK Theatre Awards on Sunday 14 October 2018.

The Gielgud Award for Excellence in the Dramatic Arts was established by The Shakespeare Guild in 1994. Previous recipients include F. Murray Abraham, Kenneth Branagh, Judi Dench, Derek Jacobi, Kevin Kline, Christopher Plummer, Lynn Redgrave, Patrick Stewart, Eileen Atkins and Vanessa Redgrave.

The UK Theatre Awards ceremony will be hosted by Olivier-nominated musical theatre performer Tyrone Huntley, whose work includes Jesus Christ Superstar, Dreamgirls, and Homos, Or Everyone In America.

Amongst the awards presenters will be Wendi Peters (currently starring in a UK tour of Salad Days), Sharon Duncan-Brewster (2017 UK Theatre Award winner for Best Supporting Performance), Ria Jones (who recently toured the UK as the lead role in Sunset Boulevard), Matt Cardle (currently starring in Strictly Ballroom The Musical), Emma Williams (part of the recent UK tour of An Officer And A Gentleman) and Michael Ellis MP (Minister for Arts, Heritage and Tourism).

It has already been announced that Maxine Peake will be honoured with an Outstanding Contribution to British Theatre award, to be presented at the ceremony by Conrad Lynch (an award-winning producer) and Sarah Frankcom (Artistic Director of Manchester’s Royal Exchange Theatre).

The full list of nominations for this year’s UK Theatre Awards can be viewed here.


Sign up

ian mckellen richard eyre tyrone huntley uk theatre uk theatre awards

Related articles

If you click through to seat selection (where you'll see either best available or a seating plan), you will be seeing the most up-to-date prices. If this differs from what we've written on the calendar, please bear with us, as those prices will update soon.

We now sell our famous TKTS Booth discounts online here at Official London Theatre.

We are now cancelling all performances up until and including 31 May 2020 to help us process existing bookings whilst we wait for further clarity from the government in terms of when we will be able to reopen.

We are so sorry that in these testing and difficult times you are not able to enjoy the show you have booked for and hope the following helps clarify next steps in respect of your tickets .

There is nothing that you need to do if your performance has been cancelled, but we do ask for your patience.

If you have booked directly with the theatre or show website for an affected performance, please be assured that they will contact you directly to arrange an exchange for a later date, a credit note/voucher or a refund. If you have booked via a ticket agent they will also be in contact with you directly.

We are processing in strict date order of performance, so you are likely to be contacted after the date you were due to go to the theatre. However, we want to reassure you that you will be contacted, and your order will be processed, but please do bear with us.

We’d like to thank everyone who has been patient and kind in dealing with their ticket providers so far and we are sorry that we cannot process your order as quickly as we would like.

Please do not contact your credit card company as that will slow the process down and put an additional burden on our box office and ticket agent teams.

In order for us to serve our audiences the best we can, please do not get in touch with your point of sale if you have booked for performances after 31 May. Please be reassured that if we have to cancel future performances you will be directly contacted by your theatre or ticket provider. Our producers continue to plan for all eventualities dependent on the individual needs of their shows and we will provide further updates on specific shows as and when they become available.

We look forward to welcoming you back into our theatres as soon as we are allowed to resume performances. In the meantime stay safe and healthy.