facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus close home newspaper-o perm_device_information restaurant school stay_current_landscape ticket train
Lesley Manville on the Olivier Awards 2016 with MasterCard red carpet (Photo: Pamela Raith)

Lesley Manville on the Olivier Awards 2016 with MasterCard red carpet (Photo: Pamela Raith)

New Year’s Honours List includes Olivier Award-winners Lesley Manville, Sheila Hancock and more

Published 1 January 2021

The New Year’s Honours List has been published and we wish to congratulate all those working on and off-stage who have been recognised. The full list can be viewed here, but our special wishes to:

Those made Dames in the list include actress Sheila Hancock , conductor Professor Jane Allison Glover and make-up artist Patricia McGrath.

Founder and artistic director of the Birmingham Opera Company, Graham Vick, recieved a Knighhood.

CBE’s have been awarded to composer Julian Anderson, author Anthony Browne, concert pianist William Douglas, professor Bashabi Fraser, conductor Daniel Harding, artist Michael Landy and actress Lesley Manville.

Recieving OBE’s are stage designer William Dudley, actor Toby Jones, founding member of Dance UK Bob Lockyer, writer Jed Mercurio, choreographer Stuart Hopps, Wasfi Kani of Grange Park Opera and actress Nina Wadia

Being made MBE’s are:
Philip Cross, founder of Starcross Youth Theatre
Elizabeth Crump, What Next? Strategic Lead
Simon Danciger, chair of OSO Arts Centre
David Hamilton, founder of Phoenix Dance Theatre
Robert Heard for services to arts and charitale fundraising
Pietra Mello-Pittman and Ella Spira, Sisters Grimm founders
Deborah Scully, deputy principal at Royal Central School of Speech and Drama
Chitra Sundaram, dancer and choreographer
Sharon Watson, Chief executive and principal of Northern School for Contemporary Dance
Joanne Wheeler for services to Arts and to people with Disabilities

Awarded OBE are:
Anand Bhatt and Aakash Odedra, co-founders of Aakash Odedra Company
Sharon Higgins,for supporting the performing arts in South Wales
Catherine Knapp-Evans for supporting arts in mid-Wales
Alan Lane, Artistic Director of Slung Low
Catharine Sinnadurai for services to dance education and training
Patricia Wheatley, CEO of Disability Arts Online
David Williams for services to the arts in Wales
Jenny Williams for services to culture and creativity

Congratulations to everyone honoured. For the full list visit gov.uk.


Sign up

Related articles