facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images mail whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus close

The Boy In The Dress Opening Night

London Theatre News Today: Friday 29 November

Kitty Underwood

By Kitty Underwood Published 29 November 2019

Last night, the Royal Shakespeare Company celebrated the opening night of the new musical, The Boy In The Dress, based on the novel by David Walliams, adapted by Mark Ravenhill, with music and lyrics by Robbie Williams and Guy Chambers and directed by RSC Artistic Director Gregory Doran.

VIP guests included David Baddiel, David Bradley, Alan Carr, Guy Chambers, Taron Egerton, Ray Fearon, Ayda Field, Dawn Harper, Natalie Imbruglia, Cerys Matthews, David Walliams and Robbie Williams.

The Company, which includes Rufus Hound, Irvine Iqbal, Natasha Lewis, Forbes Masson and Charlotte Wakefield, were joined on stage by Robbie Williams, David Walliams and Guy Chambers for a special reprise of ‘Disco Symphony’, one of the songs written by Robbie Williams and Guy Chambers for the production.

The Boy In The Dress Opening Night

Nominees have been announced for The Curtain Up Show Album of the Year 2019 in association with Theatre Tokens. Three categories (each with six nominees) are open to the public vote.

Voting closes at 5.00pm GMT on Wednesday 8 January 2020, and winners will be announced live on Resonance FM at 4.00pm GMT on Friday 10 January 2020.

To cast your vote, visit The Curtain Up Show website here and one lucky voter will win £100 worth of Theatre Tokens, which can be used at over 260 venues across the country. You can check out the nominees below:

Best London Cast Recording
& Juliet – Original London Cast Recording
Company – 2018 London Cast Recording
Follies – 2018 National Theatre Cast Recording
Heathers – Original West End Cast Recording
The Secret Diary Of Adrian Mole Aged 13¾ – Original London Cast Recording
Tina – Original London Cast Recording

Best Broadway Cast Recording
Beetlejuice – Original Broadway Cast Recording
Hadestown – Original Broadway Cast Recording
Jagged Little Pill – Original Broadway Cast Recording
Moulin Rouge! – Original Broadway Cast Recording
Oklahoma! – 2019 Broadway Cast Recording
Tootsie – Original Broadway Cast Recording

Best Solo Album
Cassidy Janson – Cassidy
Hayden Tee – Face To Face
Ramin Karimloo – From Now On
Jon Robyns – Musical Direction
Ben Platt – Sing To Me Instead
John Owen-Jones – Spotlight


Sign up

Related articles

If you click through to seat selection (where you'll see either best available or a seating plan), you will be seeing the most up-to-date prices. If this differs from what we've written on the calendar, please bear with us, as those prices will update soon.

We now sell our famous TKTS Booth discounts online here at Official London Theatre.