play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel

Royal Hunt Of The Sun, The

This show has now closed, please visit our London Shows page for a full list of current productions.

About the Show Less...

Trevor Nunn returns to the National to direct Peter Shaffer's play of culture clash in the invaded Peru. Read More >

Two very different reasons for conquering Peru are offered by the church and by Spanish soldier Pizarro; while one claims the cause as for the good of Christianity, the other offers boundless wealth. Whichever way it is perceived, the resulting clash of cultures leaves thousands of helpless Incas slaughtered.

Trevor Nunn, Artistic Director of the National theatre between 1997 and 2003, returns to the South Bank venue for the first time to direct this production. His previous productions at the NT include Love’s Labour’s Lost, Anything Goes, A Streetcar named Desire, Arcadia and Oklahoma! Away from the NT, Nunn is the director behind productions including The Woman In White and Les Misérables.

Shaffer’s The Royal Hunt Of The Sun was the first new play to be staged by the National theatre while it was housed at the Old Vic in 1964.


Important Dates & Timing

Previews From: 30/03/2006

Opening Night: 12/04/2006

Closing Night: 12/08/2006

Running time: 3h

Security note: For your comfort and security, you may be subject to additional checks on your visit to London theatres. Please contact the venue for more information.

Cast & Creative


Alan Armstrong, Tristan Beint, Jim Creighton, Oliver Cotton, Darrell D'Silva, Branwell Donaghey, Andrew Frame, Bradley Freegard, Richard Lintern, Tam Mutu, Owen Oakeshott, Gary Oliver, Paul Ritter, Malcolm Storry, Philip Voss, Israel Aduramo, Natasha Bain, Micah Balfour, Ralph Birtwell, Paterson Joseph, Bhasker Patel, Amit Shah, Nataylia Roni, Ewart James Walters, Dwayne Barnaby, Martin Carroll, Daniel Lindquist, George Daniel Long, Andrew McDonald, Terel Nugent, Douglas Scott Franklin, Michael


Director - Trevor Nunn

Producer - National Theatre

Designer - Anthony Ward

Choreographer - Anthony Van Laast

Lighting Designer - Hugh Vanstone

Sound - Paul Groothuis

Author - Peter Shaffer