facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus close home newspaper-o perm_device_information restaurant school stay_current_landscape ticket train

Vaughn and Shaw are Angry Men

First Published 6 September 2013, Last Updated 6 September 2013

Screen icon Robert Vaughn, movie stars Jeff Fahey and Nick Moran, and regular TV leading man Martin Shaw will lead the cast of a new production of Twelve Angry Men when it opens at the Garrick theatre this autumn.

Previewing from 7 November, with a press night on 11 November, the show, based on the 1957 Oscar-nominated film, follows a dozen jurors as they decide the fate of a delinquent youth charged with murdering his father. What seems to be an easy case to call soon becomes a trickier proposition as prejudices about the boy and each other bubble to the surface.

Vaughn is a genuine acting icon, having appeared in classic films The Towering Inferno, The Magnificent Seven and Bullitt, and TV shows from The Man From U.N.C.L.E to Hustle, while Fahey, also a screen star, has appeared in more cult films including The Lawnmower Man, Machete and Grindhouse.

Moran is probably still best known for his performance in Brit flick Lock, Stock And Two Smoking Barrels, but boasts stage credits including Look Back In Anger at Bristol Old Vic and Real Classy Affair at the Royal Court.

Shaw, whose West End appearances include The Country Girl and A Man For All Seasons, is well known for his title roles in TV dramas Judge John Deed and Inspector George Gently, and became a British TV favourite playing Doyle in late-70s cop drama The Professionals.

Twelve Angry Men – which still has eight disgruntled males to add to its cast list – opens at the Garrick following a short tour, replacing a quite different production, Rock Of Ages. The big-haired, guitar-thrashing, comic love letter to 80s soft rock anthems will end its London run on 2 November.


Sign up

Related articles