facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images mail whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus close spinner11
Are you missing theatre as much as we are? Support us now with Theatre Tokens and see your favourite shows when they reopen. #IMissTheatre

Theatre nods in Queen’s New Year’s Honours

Published 31 December 2015

Three of Britain’s much-loved actresses – Imelda Staunton, Siân Phillips and Barbara Windsor – have been recognised in the Queen’s 2016 New Year’s Honours List.

Windsor and Phillips will both enter the new year as Dames, while Staunton will begin 2016 having been awarded a CBE.

While EastEnders and Carry On actress Windsor, who is recognised for her services to charity and entertainment, hasn’t been seen on the London stage in recent years, Phillips and Staunton’s recent appearances in the West End have no doubt contributed to their services to drama.

Three-time Olivier Award winner Staunton caps off an incredible year that has seen the Harry Potter actress receive an Evening Standard Theatre Award and a UK Theatre Award for her critically acclaimed performance in Gypsy.

Phillips, who is set to star in the National Theatre’s 2016 production of Les Blancs, has appeared in recent West End productions of The Importance Of Being Earnest (Harold Pinter Theatre) and Cabaret, the latter of which earned the actress an Olivier Award nomination in 2013.

Other actors appearing on the Queen’s 2016 New Year’s Honours List include Idris Elba, David Oyelowo and James Nesbitt, who are all recognised for their services to drama. Luther star Elba and Spooks’ Oyelowo, who have appeared in the Donmar Warehouse’s This Is How It Goes and The God Botherers at the Bush Theatre respectively, are awarded CBEs, while Nesbitt (Shoot The Crow, Trafalgar Studios) receives an OBE.

Multi Olivier Award-winning choreographer Matthew Bourne also has reason to celebrate today, having been awarded a knighthood in the Queen’s 2016 New Year’s Honours List for services to dance. Best known for his contemporary takes on classic tales, and for his choreography of West End musicals including Mary Poppins, Bourne’s incredible repertoire includes his 2012 hit Sleeping Beauty, which is currently playing at Sadler’s Wells.

This morning Bourne tweeted that he was touched by all the congratulatory messages he’d received and was proud of his fellow dance honourees for their recognition:


To see this content you’ll need to allow us to set some additional cookies!

Update your cookie preferences here and enable ‘social and advertising cookies’

Artistic Director of English National Ballet Tamara Rojo and National Youth Ballet of Great Britain founder and Artistic Director Jill Tookey receive CBEs, while choreographer Christopher Wheeldon is awarded an OBE.

Other nods go to writer Peter Morgan (CBE), who has created multiple works about the British monarch including the critically acclaimed play 2013 play The Audience, Blur frontman and wonder.land composer Damon Albarn (OBE) and Harry Potter And The Cursed Child producer Colin Callender, who has been knighted.


Sign up

Related articles

If you click through to seat selection (where you'll see either best available or a seating plan), you will be seeing the most up-to-date prices. If this differs from what we've written on the calendar, please bear with us, as those prices will update soon.

We now sell our famous TKTS Booth discounts online here at Official London Theatre.

We are now cancelling all performances up until and including 31 May 2020 to help us process existing bookings whilst we wait for further clarity from the government in terms of when we will be able to reopen.

We are so sorry that in these testing and difficult times you are not able to enjoy the show you have booked for and hope the following helps clarify next steps in respect of your tickets .

There is nothing that you need to do if your performance has been cancelled, but we do ask for your patience.

If you have booked directly with the theatre or show website for an affected performance, please be assured that they will contact you directly to arrange an exchange for a later date, a credit note/voucher or a refund. If you have booked via a ticket agent they will also be in contact with you directly.

We are processing in strict date order of performance, so you are likely to be contacted after the date you were due to go to the theatre. However, we want to reassure you that you will be contacted, and your order will be processed, but please do bear with us.

We’d like to thank everyone who has been patient and kind in dealing with their ticket providers so far and we are sorry that we cannot process your order as quickly as we would like.

Please do not contact your credit card company as that will slow the process down and put an additional burden on our box office and ticket agent teams.

In order for us to serve our audiences the best we can, please do not get in touch with your point of sale if you have booked for performances after 31 May. Please be reassured that if we have to cancel future performances you will be directly contacted by your theatre or ticket provider. Our producers continue to plan for all eventualities dependent on the individual needs of their shows and we will provide further updates on specific shows as and when they become available.

We look forward to welcoming you back into our theatres as soon as we are allowed to resume performances. In the meantime stay safe and healthy.

Theatres are currently closed until 3 August. Some shows have cancelled or rescheduled performances beyond this date, please check with individual shows for details.