facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images mail whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus
The cast of The Inheritance (Photo: Marc Brenner)

The cast of The Inheritance (Photo: Marc Brenner)

The Inheritance and Company win big at Critics’ Circle Awards 2018

Robin Johnson

By Robin Johnson First Published 29 January 2019, Last Updated 30 January 2019

Matthew Lopez’s epic two-part play The Inheritance and Marianne Elliott’s reinvention of Company led the way at this year’s Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards, which also heralded a wide variety of productions.

The Inheritance took home the awards for Best New Play, Best Director (for Stephen Daldry) and Best Actor (for Kyle Soller), having enjoyed acclaimed runs at both the Young Vic and the Noël Coward Theatre in 2018. Meanwhile Company, Stephen Sondheim’s 1970s musical comedy which was gender-swapped in Elliott’s acclaimed new production, won Best Musical and Best Designer (for Bunny Christie).

Rosalie Craig in Company (Photo: Brinkhoff/Mogenburg)Rosalie Craig in Company (Photo: Brinkhoff/Mogenburg)

Also collecting awards were Patsy Ferran, whose starring role as Alma in Summer & Smoke at the Almeida and Duke of York’s Theatre won widespread plaudits and the Best Actress Award; Chris Walley, whose West End debut in The Lieutenant Of Inishmore won him Best Newcomer; and Natasha Gordon for Nine Night, her debut play which garnered her the Most Promising Playwright Award. Sophie Okonedo claimed Best Shakespearean Performance for Antony & Cleopatra at the National Theatre.

The informal awards ceremony was held today (Tuesday 29 February) at the West End’s Prince of Wales Theatre, hosted by Critics’ Circle Drama Section Chairman, Mark Shenton. The awards have been running since 1989, and are staged as a convivial gathering to celebrate critics’ selection of the best theatre from the preceding year.

Full list of winners:

The Jack Tinker Award for Most Promising Newcomer
Chris Walley for The Lieutenant Of Inishmore – Noël Coward Theatre

The Trewin Award for Best Shakespearean Performance
Sophie Okonedo for Antony & Cleopatra – National Theatre

Most Promising Playwright
Natasha Gordon for Nine Night – National Theatre & Trafalgar Studios

The Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical
Company – Gielgud Theatre

Best Designer
Bunny Christie for Company – Gielgud Theatre

Best Director
Stephen Daldry for The Inheritance – Young Vic & Noël Coward Theatre

Best Actress
Patsy Ferran for Summer & Smoke – Almeida Theatre & Duke of York’s Theatre

Best Actor
Kyle Soller for The Inheritance – Young Vic & Noël Coward Theatre

Best New Play
The Inheritance – Young Vic & Noël Coward Theatre

Special Award
Neil McPherson Artistic Director of the Finborough Theatre

Find out more about the history of London musicals and plays in London.


Sign up

almeida theatre chris walley company critics circle awards duke of york's theatre kyle soller Natasha Gordon Nine Night Noel Coward Theatre patsy ferran prince of wales theatre sophie okonedo stephen daldry the inheritance young vic

Related articles