facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images mail whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus close spinner11
Sir David Hare (Photo: Kitty Gale)

Sir David Hare (Photo: Kitty Gale)

David Hare wins the Gielgud Award at UK Theatre Awards 2017

First Published 12 October 2017, Last Updated 12 October 2017

David Hare is to receive this year’s Gielgud Award for Excellence in the Dramatic Arts at the UK Theatre Awards 2017. The ceremony will take place on Sunday 15 October at London’s Guildhall.

The UK Theatre Awards are the only nationwide honours that recognise creative excellence and outstanding achievement both on and off stage. Olivier Award-winning actress Sharon D Clarke will host this year’s awards.

David Hare is one of today’s leading playwrights and filmmakers. He has written more than 30 stage plays, among them Plenty, Pravda (with Howard Brenton), The Secret Rapture, Racing Demon, Skylight, Amy’s View, The Blue Room, Via Dolorosa, Stuff Happens, South Downs, The Absence Of War, The Judas Kiss, The Moderate Soprano, and The Red Barn. For film and television he has written over 25 screenplays, including Licking Hitler, Dreams Of Leaving, Saigon: Year Of The Cat, Wetherby, Damage, The Hours, The Reader, Denial, and The Worricker Trilogy: Page Eight, Turks & Caicos, and Salting The Battlefield. He has also written English adaptations of plays by Brecht, Gorky, Chekhov, Pirandello, Ibsen, and Lorca. His memoir, The Blue Touch Paper, was published in 2014. In an NT millennial poll of the greatest plays of the 20th century, five of the top 100 were his.

The Gielgud Award for Excellence in the Dramatic Arts was established by The Shakespeare Guild in 1994. Previous recipients include F. Murray Abraham, Sir Kenneth Branagh, Dame Judi Dench, Sir Derek Jacobi, Kevin Kline, Christopher Plummer, Lynn Redgrave OBE and Sir Patrick Stewart, Dame Eileen Atkins and Vanessa Redgrave.

It was previously announced that Lyn Gardner would receive this year’s Outstanding Contribution To British Theatre Award. This year’s nominations see Everybody’s Talking About Jamie, Caroline, Or Change and Sweet Charity competing for Best Musical Production. The nominees for Best New Play are Half Breed by Tash Marshall, Narvik by Lizzie Nunnery and Wish List by Katherine Soper. The full list of nominees can be viewed here.


Sign up

Related articles

If you click through to seat selection (where you'll see either best available or a seating plan), you will be seeing the most up-to-date prices. If this differs from what we've written on the calendar, please bear with us, as those prices will update soon.

We now sell our famous TKTS Booth discounts online here at Official London Theatre.

We are now cancelling all performances up until and including 31 May 2020 to help us process existing bookings whilst we wait for further clarity from the government in terms of when we will be able to reopen.

We are so sorry that in these testing and difficult times you are not able to enjoy the show you have booked for and hope the following helps clarify next steps in respect of your tickets .

There is nothing that you need to do if your performance has been cancelled, but we do ask for your patience.

If you have booked directly with the theatre or show website for an affected performance, please be assured that they will contact you directly to arrange an exchange for a later date, a credit note/voucher or a refund. If you have booked via a ticket agent they will also be in contact with you directly.

We are processing in strict date order of performance, so you are likely to be contacted after the date you were due to go to the theatre. However, we want to reassure you that you will be contacted, and your order will be processed, but please do bear with us.

We’d like to thank everyone who has been patient and kind in dealing with their ticket providers so far and we are sorry that we cannot process your order as quickly as we would like.

Please do not contact your credit card company as that will slow the process down and put an additional burden on our box office and ticket agent teams.

In order for us to serve our audiences the best we can, please do not get in touch with your point of sale if you have booked for performances after 31 May. Please be reassured that if we have to cancel future performances you will be directly contacted by your theatre or ticket provider. Our producers continue to plan for all eventualities dependent on the individual needs of their shows and we will provide further updates on specific shows as and when they become available.

We look forward to welcoming you back into our theatres as soon as we are allowed to resume performances. In the meantime stay safe and healthy.

While theatres are currently closed, various venues and productions are making announcements for their individual shows, including cancellations and rescheduled performances. Please check with the individual shows for details.