facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images mail whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus close spinner11
Amber Riley in Dreamgirls (Photo: Brinkhoff & Mogenburg)

Amber Riley in Dreamgirls (Photo: Brinkhoff & Mogenburg)

Amber Riley, Andrew Garfield and Andrew Scott on Evening Standard Theatre Awards shortlist

Robin Johnson

By Robin Johnson Published 17 November 2017

The London Evening Standard has revealed the shortlist for its 2017 Theatre Awards, the winners of which will be revealed in a ceremony on Sunday 3 December at Theatre Royal, Drury Lane.

Celebrating a spectacular year for the London stage, star names shortlisted include the likes of Amber Riley for Best Musical Performance in Dreamgirls, and Andrew Garfield (for Angels In America at the National Theatre) and Andrew Scott (for Hamlet at the Almeida Theatre and West End) for Best Actor.

Andrew Garfield in rehearsals for Angels In America at the National Theatre (Photo: Helen Maybanks)Andrew Garfield in rehearsals for Angels In America at the National Theatre (Photo: Helen Maybanks)

Andrew Scott (Hamlet) in Hamlet at the Harold Pinter Theatre (Photo: Manuel Harlan)Andrew Scott (Hamlet) in Hamlet at the Harold Pinter Theatre (Photo: Manuel Harlan)

Multi-nominated productions included Jez Butterworth’s new play, The Ferryman, which is up for four Awards including Best New Play, as well as James Graham’s witty play about the birth of The Sun newspaper, Ink, and Dominic Cooke’s revival of Sondheim’s musical classic Follies.

The thriving relationship between London’s subsided and commercial theatre was reflected by the number of productions to have achieved successful West End transfers (Hamlet, Ink, The Ferryman, Oslo).

The annual awards, marking their 63rd year, will be co-hosted by the newspaper’s owner, Evgeny Lebedev, American Vogue editor-in-chief, Dame Anna Wintour, star of stage and screen Cate Blanchett and Hamilton creator and original star Lin-Manuel Miranda. The on-stage host for the evening is Phoebe Waller-Bridge.

The winners will be announced on Sunday 3 December.

Best Actor

Bertie Carvel – Ink (Almeida & Duke of York’s)
Andrew Garfield – Angels in America (National Theatre)
Andrew Scott – Hamlet (Almeida & Harold Pinter Theatre)

Best Actress

Laura Donnelly – The Ferryman (Royal Court & Gielgud)
Victoria Hamilton – Albion (Almeida)
Glenda Jackson – King Lear (Old Vic)

Best Musical Performance

Janie Dee – Follies (National Theatre)
Robert Fairchild – An American In Paris (Dominion)
Amber Riley – Dreamgirls (Savoy)

Best Play

The Children – Lucy Kirkwood (Royal Court)
The Ferryman – Jez Butterworth (Royal Court & Gielgud)
Ink – James Graham (Almeida & Duke of York’s)
Oslo –  JT Rogers (National Theatre & Harold Pinter Theatre)

Best Director

Dominic Cooke – Follies (National Theatre)
Robert Icke – Hamlet (Almeida & Harold Pinter)
Sam Mendes – The Ferryman (Royal Court & Gielgud)

Best Design

Jon Bausor – Bat Out of Hell – The Musical (Coliseum)
Bunny Christie – Heisenberg: The Uncertainty Principle (Wyndham’s)/The Red Barn (National Theatre)/Ink (Almeida &Duke of York’s)
Soutra Gilmour – Twelfth Night (National Theatre)

Most Promising Playwright

Branden Jacobs-Jenkin – An Octoroon (Orange Tree)
Al Smith – Harrogate (High Tide Festival & Royal Court)
Katherine Soper – Wish List (Royal Exchange Manchester & Royal Court)

Emerging Talent Award

Sheila Atim – Girl From The North Country (Old Vic)
Tom Glynn-Carney – The Ferryman (Royal Court & Gielgud)
Luke Thallon – Albion (Almeida)

Best Musical

An American In Paris – Dominion
Bat out Of Hell – The Musical – Coliseum
Dreamgirls – Savoy
Follies – National Theatre
School Of Rock The Musical – New London Theatre
The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole Aged 13 ¾ The Musical – Menier Chocolate Factory
She Loves Me Menier Chocolate Factory


Sign up

Related articles

If you click through to seat selection (where you'll see either best available or a seating plan), you will be seeing the most up-to-date prices. If this differs from what we've written on the calendar, please bear with us, as those prices will update soon.

We now sell our famous TKTS Booth discounts online here at Official London Theatre.

We are now cancelling all performances up until and including 31 May 2020 to help us process existing bookings whilst we wait for further clarity from the government in terms of when we will be able to reopen.

We are so sorry that in these testing and difficult times you are not able to enjoy the show you have booked for and hope the following helps clarify next steps in respect of your tickets .

There is nothing that you need to do if your performance has been cancelled, but we do ask for your patience.

If you have booked directly with the theatre or show website for an affected performance, please be assured that they will contact you directly to arrange an exchange for a later date, a credit note/voucher or a refund. If you have booked via a ticket agent they will also be in contact with you directly.

We are processing in strict date order of performance, so you are likely to be contacted after the date you were due to go to the theatre. However, we want to reassure you that you will be contacted, and your order will be processed, but please do bear with us.

We’d like to thank everyone who has been patient and kind in dealing with their ticket providers so far and we are sorry that we cannot process your order as quickly as we would like.

Please do not contact your credit card company as that will slow the process down and put an additional burden on our box office and ticket agent teams.

In order for us to serve our audiences the best we can, please do not get in touch with your point of sale if you have booked for performances after 31 May. Please be reassured that if we have to cancel future performances you will be directly contacted by your theatre or ticket provider. Our producers continue to plan for all eventualities dependent on the individual needs of their shows and we will provide further updates on specific shows as and when they become available.

We look forward to welcoming you back into our theatres as soon as we are allowed to resume performances. In the meantime stay safe and healthy.

While theatres are currently closed, various venues and productions are making announcements for their individual shows, including cancellations and rescheduled performances. Please check with the individual shows for details.