facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus close spinner11
1984 (Photo: Tristram Kenton)

1984 (Photo: Tristram Kenton)

1984 triumphs at UK Theatre Awards

First Published 19 October 2014, Last Updated 19 October 2014

Duncan Macmillan and Robert Icke have been awarded the Best Director prize at 2014’s prestigious UK Theatre Awards following its hugely successful Olivier Award nominated run both at the Almeida Theatre and in the West End.

The young co-directors and adapters of the critically acclaimed Headlong, Nottingham Playhouse and Almeida Theatre co-production, which is currently touring the UK, were joined by an esteemed list of winners celebrating success at the awards held today at the City of London’s Guildhall.

Amongst the many award wins for a diverse range of venues across the UK, London’s Shakespeare’s Globe and Sadler’s Wells triumphed at the glamorous lunchtime event, sharing this year’s Renee Stepham Award for Best Presentation of Touring Theatre.

Audiences in the capital will also soon be able to see Jenna Augen recreate her now Best Supporting Performance Award-winning portrayal of Daphna in Theatre Royal Bath’s family comedy Bad Jews, which will arrive in London for a run at the St James Theatre early next year.

Run by regional theatre membership organisation UK Theatre, the UK Theatre Awards have celebrated the incredible theatrical talent, entertainment and industry employers in venues throughout England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland since 1991.

This year’s glittering event was compèred by musical theatre star and two-time Olivier Award nominee Michael Xavier. Alongside a performance by former Oliver! star Jodie Prenger, who is currently appearing in Nikolai Foster’s touring production of Calamity Jane, theatre favourites including Anita Dobson, Tamzin Outhwaithe and Wayne Sleep were on hand to reveal this year’s illustrious winners.

Alongside the awards for creative excellence both on and off the stage, this year’s ceremony also included a posthumous prize for the esteemed actor Sir Donald Sinden, who was awarded the Gielgud Award for Excellence in the Dramatic Arts for his incredible eight decade career.

The full list of 2014’s UK Theatre Award winners:

Best New Play

AN AUGUST BANK HOLIDAY LARK by Deborah McAndrew, a Northern Broadsides production in partnership with New Vic Theatre, Newcastle-under-Lyme on tour

Best Performance in a Play

Patrick O’Kane for QUIETLY, an Abbey Theatre production on tour

Best Supporting Performance

Jenna Augen for BAD JEWS, a Theatre Royal Bath production, in the Ustinov Studio

Best Musical Production

BRASS directed by Sara Kestelman, a National Youth Music Theatre production at City Varieties Music Hall, Leeds

Best Performance in a Musical

Jamie Parker for GUYS AND DOLLS, a Chichester Festival Theatre production

Best Show for Children and Young People

DRAGON, a National Theatre of Scotland, Vox Motus and Tianjin People’s Art Theatre, China production, at the Citizens Theatre and Traverse Theatre

Best Director

Duncan Macmillan and Robert Icke for 1984, a Headlong, Nottingham Playhouse and Almeida Theatre production, on tour

Best Design

Jon Bausor for MAMETZ, a National Theatre Wales production

Best Touring Production

TRANSLATIONS – English Touring Theatre, Sheffield Theatres and Rose Theatre, Kingston

Achievement in Dance

Birmingham Hippodrome for the bold, extensive programming and presentation of the International Dance Festival Birmingham 2014, in partnership with DanceXchange.

Achievement in Opera

Richard Farnes for his exceptional conducting of Opera North’s DEATH IN VENICE, THE GIRL OF THE GOLDEN WEST and GÖTTERDÄMMERUNG

The Renee Stepham Award for Best Presentation of Touring Theatre

Sadler’s Wells Theatre

Shakespeare’s Globe

Achievement in Marketing

Liverpool Everyman & Playhouse

Theatre Employee/Manager of the Year

Hedda Beeby – Watermill Theatre, Newbury

Promotion of Diversity

Liverpool Everyman & Playhouse

My Theatre Matters! UK’s Most Welcoming Theatre in association with Smooth Radio

Wales Millennium Centre

The Stage Award for Outstanding Contribution to British Theatre

Paul Kerryson

The Clothworkers’ Award

Theatre Royal Plymouth

The Gielgud Award for Excellence in the Dramatic Arts

Sir Donald Sinden CBE


Sign up

Related articles

Due to the current pandemic various venues and productions are making announcements for their individual shows. Please bear with us as we try to keep this page as up to date as possible. If you find a mistake, please let us know by emailing enquiries@soltukt.co.uk. If you click through to seat selection (where you'll see either best available or a seating plan), you will be seeing the most up-to-date prices. If this differs from what we've written on the calendar, please bear with us, as those prices will update soon.

We now sell our famous TKTS Booth discounts online here at Official London Theatre.

We are now cancelling all performances up until and including 31 May 2020 to help us process existing bookings whilst we wait for further clarity from the government in terms of when we will be able to reopen.

We are so sorry that in these testing and difficult times you are not able to enjoy the show you have booked for and hope the following helps clarify next steps in respect of your tickets .

There is nothing that you need to do if your performance has been cancelled, but we do ask for your patience.

If you have booked directly with the theatre or show website for an affected performance, please be assured that they will contact you directly to arrange an exchange for a later date, a credit note/voucher or a refund. If you have booked via a ticket agent they will also be in contact with you directly.

We are processing in strict date order of performance, so you are likely to be contacted after the date you were due to go to the theatre. However, we want to reassure you that you will be contacted, and your order will be processed, but please do bear with us.

We’d like to thank everyone who has been patient and kind in dealing with their ticket providers so far and we are sorry that we cannot process your order as quickly as we would like.

Please do not contact your credit card company as that will slow the process down and put an additional burden on our box office and ticket agent teams.

In order for us to serve our audiences the best we can, please do not get in touch with your point of sale if you have booked for performances after 31 May. Please be reassured that if we have to cancel future performances you will be directly contacted by your theatre or ticket provider. Our producers continue to plan for all eventualities dependent on the individual needs of their shows and we will provide further updates on specific shows as and when they become available.

We look forward to welcoming you back into our theatres as soon as we are allowed to resume performances. In the meantime stay safe and healthy.

For more than 40 years, TKTS was our on-the-day theatre ticket box office in Leicester Square. Currently closed due to the current situation, we are now selling our great last minute seats and prices online. Click here to learn more.

While theatres are currently closed, various venues and productions are making announcements for their individual shows, including cancellations and rescheduled performances. Please check with the individual shows for details.