facebook play-alt chevron-thin-right chevron-thin-left cancel location info chevron-thin-down star-full help-with-circle calendar images mail whatsapp directions_car directions_bike train directions_walk directions_bus close spinner11
Are you missing theatre as much as we are? Support us now with Theatre Tokens and see your favourite shows when they reopen.

Kenyon and Squire in New Year Honours

First Published 17 April 2008, Last Updated 18 April 2008

Rosemary Squire, Nicholas Kenyon, Richard Griffiths and Julie Walters are among those arts professionals named in the Queen’s 2008 New Year Honours list.

Squire, who is joint Chief Executive of Ambassador Theatre Group and President of the Society of London Theatre, receives an OBE for services to theatre. In a statement, Squire said: “I feel tremendously honoured to be recognised in The Queen’s New Year Honours List, this is a real privilege and I am absolutely delighted. I’m extremely proud of the pioneering work that ATG has achieved over the past 15 years and it is wonderful that the company and the industry have been recognised in this way.”

Kenyon, managing director of the Barbican Centre since 2007 and former director of BBC Proms, has been knighted. He commented: “This is a fantastic honour, and it certainly shows the importance of classical music and the arts in our lives; it's really a recognition of all the work by colleagues at the BBC and throughout the profession who made the BBC Proms over the last decade such a thriving, flourishing event.”

Sir Ian McKellen, already knighted, has been appointed to the Order of the Companions of Honour for services to drama and equality. McKellen can currently be seen on the London stage in the title role of King Lear for the Royal Shakespeare Company at the New London, until 12 January.

Other actors honoured this year include Walters (Acorn Antiques) and Carry On star Leslie Phillips, who receive CBEs, while Griffiths (The History Boys) and Roy Dotrice (The Best Of Friends) are awarded OBEs. The actor and former director of the Open Air theatre, Ian Talbot, who stepped down after the summer 2007 season, also receives an OBE.

Children’s author Jacqueline Wilson, whose stories Midnight and Tracey Beaker Gets Real have been adapted for the London stage, receives a DBE, while author and playwright Hanif Kureshi receives a CBE for services to literature and drama.

Other arts professionals recognised in the New Year Honours list include Janet Lewis, director of English Young Ballet (MBE), television and radio presenter Michael Parkinson (Knighthood), and singer Kylie Minogue (OBE).



Sign up

Related articles

If you click through to seat selection (where you'll see either best available or a seating plan), you will be seeing the most up-to-date prices. If this differs from what we've written on the calendar, please bear with us, as those prices will update soon.

We now sell our famous TKTS Booth discounts online here at Official London Theatre.

We are now cancelling all performances up until and including 31 May 2020 to help us process existing bookings whilst we wait for further clarity from the government in terms of when we will be able to reopen.

We are so sorry that in these testing and difficult times you are not able to enjoy the show you have booked for and hope the following helps clarify next steps in respect of your tickets .

There is nothing that you need to do if your performance has been cancelled, but we do ask for your patience.

If you have booked directly with the theatre or show website for an affected performance, please be assured that they will contact you directly to arrange an exchange for a later date, a credit note/voucher or a refund. If you have booked via a ticket agent they will also be in contact with you directly.

We are processing in strict date order of performance, so you are likely to be contacted after the date you were due to go to the theatre. However, we want to reassure you that you will be contacted, and your order will be processed, but please do bear with us.

We’d like to thank everyone who has been patient and kind in dealing with their ticket providers so far and we are sorry that we cannot process your order as quickly as we would like.

Please do not contact your credit card company as that will slow the process down and put an additional burden on our box office and ticket agent teams.

In order for us to serve our audiences the best we can, please do not get in touch with your point of sale if you have booked for performances after 31 May. Please be reassured that if we have to cancel future performances you will be directly contacted by your theatre or ticket provider. Our producers continue to plan for all eventualities dependent on the individual needs of their shows and we will provide further updates on specific shows as and when they become available.

We look forward to welcoming you back into our theatres as soon as we are allowed to resume performances. In the meantime stay safe and healthy.

While theatres are currently closed, various venues and productions are making announcements for their individual shows, including cancellations and rescheduled performances. Please check with the individual shows for details.